Let’s Talk Water

There is no wrong with water, there is only right. I mean think about it. Water is the substance of life. We absolutely can NOT survive without water. That’s incredible.

Our bodies need water so they can stay properly hydrated. I mean think about it – you can starve yourself all you want – but you can only go about 3 days without water. Google it.water2.jpg

Every time you drink water it goes to all of the major components of your body: your brain, lungs, kidneys and even your joints. How do you expect to run long distances or lift as heavy as possible if your body, your cells and your bones aren’t filled with the substance to keep you going. It’s simple, you can’t.

I know there are some people who just don’t like the taste but that’s an easy fix. And I’m not talking about Gatorade or any high calorie sports drink for that matter.  In fact, there are natural ingredients that can replenish electrolytes when mixed with water (if you really are working out that hard). Whatever the case – if you needed a reason to drink water, here’s a few:

  1. – Our bodies are 60 – 70 % water. (remember it’s going to brains, blood, muscle all that jazz)

2. – It helps you digest and absorb all the nutrients you need properly. How do you think the chemical reactions in your stomach go about? Not with air, that’s for sure. You need water to help transport all of your nutrients.

3. – Water apparently also helps us metabolize store fat. (okay, that I didn’t know) Not only that but it suppresses the appetite naturally, which I can attest to.  Think about it: when you think your hungry, and then you have a glass of water naturally that thought dissipates (get it?). Conventional wisdom will tell you people mistake hunger for thirst all the time.

4. Lastly, and probably the most obvious, water helps you cool down. Ask any runner, ask any lifter. Nothing taste better than a swig of water after a good race.

Personally, I’ve loved drinking water for as long as I can remember. My dad would say I’m a fish. However, as I’ve aged, I have noticed I have to remember to drink water. I can get so engulfed in my own work that I don’t even realize I’m thirsty. And then I end up going for the wrong thing. Like apple pie or ice cream, when all I really need is some water.

Now, I’ve researched how much water the body needs and the general consensus is 8 glasses of 8 ounces a day. But here’s the kicker – there’s no real evidence supporting that. If you have time, check out this Dartmouth Medical School study – or this comprehensive article on hydration and water. Prepared to have your mind blown.

water3].jpgThe one thing I have come to agree with is that you drink when you are thirsty.  Also, there’s water in almost everything natural that we eat. If you don’t know whether your hydrated or not – you can always check your urine. Your body will not, can not, lie to you.

The main thing is to keep hydrated and if you are working out hard body, drink more water
. It really does help keep you full and help that digestive system, you feel me. 

I’m thirsty right now writing about water but I got a nice cup of ice-cold water right next to me.

Alba ❤

Sources:

Bodybuilding.com; USCG Water School, Nerdfitness, Fitday, and good ol’ WebMD.

Leave a Reply

