Beginning a Fitness Journey All Over Again

I’ve slacked on my body. Terribly.

Three months ago, I was in a car accident. I injured my back and have been seeing a chiropractor since. I wasn’t allowed to run or workout at the gym for quite some time because I had to get better. That alone killed me. It was hard for me to eat healthy because I literally had no time. I got a new job. I had doctor appointments in the mornings and by the time I arrived home I had to cook, clean and finally have some ME time. I know, it sounds like excuses – but I can’t help but think there are so many other people that go through the same thing. Maybe, not necessarily a car accident, but unexpected events that slow you down on certain goals. I’m here to say I experienced it too, and I’m not ashamed. It’s life. It happens. Period. However, once the opportunity arises for a comeback you have to take it! And that’s exactly what I’m doing, now.

 

I have slowly begun weight training and running again. Last week I woke up stupid early – like at 4:30 – to head to the gym, workout and make it in time to my doctor’s appointments, and then to work. It was hard, but totally worth it. Two days ago, I ran 2.77 miles (although, in my defense, I totally thought the route I had taken was three miles).  The run was hard. I continued to get wedgies throughout the entire 30 something minutes. (Wedgies totally suck by the way, I forgot how much they did.) AND I was slow. Super slow. But I didn’t stop. That’s all that matters.

My fitness progress took a set back when I was in that car accident. But thanks to GOD I am alive well, and beginning my fitness journey all over again. And you know what – I’m going to make this journey even better than the last!

 

5140002416aa55b19ebfa10854cd1cff

Leave a Reply

