When it rains outside, make it sweat — inside

It rained today. A lot.

It rained so much, I did not want to get on the road to go to the gym. So, I did the next best thing. I worked out at home. I worked out so hard, if I didn’t have 18inch ceilings there would have been water dripping from them. Yeah, that’s how hard I worked out. My workout went as follows:

475 jumping jacks

5 sets of 1 min planks

200 crunches

5 sets of 1 min high knees

45 leg lifts

5 sets of 10 side crunches (on each side)

At a glance, it may not seem like a lot but believe me I worked up a sweat! I was huffing and puffing and drinking water and giving it all I had.

It felt good, and I was comfortable. There are so many pros to working out at home. For instance, today I worked out in my sports bra and felt good about it! So what, if I don’t have a six pack (yet), there was no one there to judge me. I was literally in a judgment free zone – in casa de Alba.

I found a way to still be proactive and keep myself moving on this rainy day, and if I can – so can you!!!  Here are a few tips for when working out at home. These get me by, and get me going!

  1. – Choose some great music and turn up: I personally like to listen to dance music, hip hop and
    How I turn up at home when I'm about to work out!!! Image provided via Tumblr.

    How I turn up at home when I’m about to work out!!!
    Image provided via Tumblr.

    anything with a pumping beat. It gets me moving, and helps keep me in the zone.

  2. – Pick a designated area: My living room is huge. So, whenever I’m at home working out, I do it in front of the TV (with the TV is off). There’s enough space to stretch, do crunches, mountain climbers – you name it and I have the space for it!
  3. – Away with distractions: Turn the TV off. Shut the blinds and close your curtains. Remember this is your work out time, so you want to be comfortable and focused.
  4. – Have a plan: I designed the workout I was going to do, literally, like 15 – 20 minutes before actually working out. The goal for me was just to get my body moving and do some cardio. I wasn’t really trying to lift weights. Now, if today was a day for “weights” and I couldn’t attend the gym then I would find substitutions for workouts that I would normally do. No sweat. 😉

 

My point here is that there’s always something you can do, even when it seems like you can’t. So, next time you can’t make it to the gym, or really just don’t feel like going, workout at home.

It’s judgment free, comfortable and you can turn up your music as loud as you want!

Here are some exercises that you can do at home WITHOUT any equipment – thanks to writer Suzanne.

Next time you work out at home, don’t forget to make it sweat!!!

Leave a Reply

