Graduation Ahead and Summer Looks Mighty Bright

Okay, place yourself in my shoes (I’m a size 9 1/2) and just think, you’re getting ready to graduate, gearing up for an amazing internship, changing shifts at work to overnight and taking care of your family… Have you placed the shoes on yet?

Okay, good. Now that you have them on, where do you find the time to exercise? Where do you find the energy? How do you stop yourself from eating certain foods that will give you energy for the all nighters you have to pull off, or for working an entire 8 hour shift (overnight), when just last week you were working 6 hour shifts during the day?
Is it possible to do all of that, and still keep a rocking body, leveled state of mind and straight A’s? I’m sure it is, I just haven’t met her (or him) yet. Well, that’s exactly what I’ve been going through for the past few weeks. Am I complaining or whining? Of course, not. I’m just acknowledging the fact that I’ve been slacking on my fitness, because my path to healthy living had a few construction sites on the road.

I apologize for the hiatus on the blog, but for some reason being pulled in 30

Image Provided Via Pheed @Lizzarrd

Image Provided Via Pheed @Lizzarrd

different directions kind of leaves you just wanting to crawl into bed, pull the covers over your head and say “I just need a break!” And I’m afraid to even write to my pen pal, I know she’s probably like “she hasn’t written me a letter in like four months, what makes her think I’m going to write her back immediately.” I get it! And I’m sorry. Being healthy and being a college student and balancing out all of your duties is much harder than it would seem; but guess what guys… I’m back. And I’m ready to get my workout on, get my physique right, work on my journalistic skills during the internship and absolutely kick ass this summer.

Graduation is going to be Sunday, May 4th at 2:00pm, but that doesn’t mean I stop learning, and that definitely doesn’t mean my work is done. I’m always working towards a brighter tomorrow that’s in my favor. And the same can be correlated to one’s fitness journey. Even when you’ve reached that goal weight, your work doesn’t stop, because let’s be honest, you’re not going to let all that hard work go to waste, right? Of course, not. You’re going to continue on your journey, staying healthy and keeping yourself active AND keeping that body right. Am I right? Or am I right?

I mean the more I keep thinking about what’s ahead after graduation, the more I know summer is not going to be ready for all this fuego, I’m about to bring!
Whooh! I’m pumped just thinking about it.

Image Provided Via Tumblr

Image Provided Via Tumblr

So here are the top three things you’ll need in order to have an amazing kick ass summer to accomplish all your goals, whether it be taking summer classes, getting that bikini bod, training for a 5K or getting that top reward at work:

  1.  Buy a composition notebook.  It’s costs about $1. Use it to document  all of your awesomeness, to do lists, keep track of everything, and set yourself up for success)
  2. Confidence. $0. Do whatever you have to do to motivate yourself, because when your confident, it exudes from you where everyone can see it, and it propels you to do your best! Don’t know how to be confident? Cool. Give yourself morning pep talks, constantly remind yourself of your goals (look in your comp notebook), even place little sticky notes to remind you of how awesome you are!
  3. Sleep. Priceless. Get enough sleep in order to have that energy to do all that you want to do! I mean, granted, college students rarely get a full 8 hours because we don’t have time, and we’d rather party all night and go to school the next day.Eh hmm. But we do need it, so set a bed time why don’t ya!

By setting yourself up for success, nothing except for maybe a natural disaster (or something like that) can get in your way!

What do you do to get back on track, and how do you plan on spending your summer?
Also, congratulations to all those college graduates out there. We made it!!!
xoxo

-Alba

One thought on “Graduation Ahead and Summer Looks Mighty Bright

Leave a Reply

