All You Need is a Little Bit of Vitamin E

Vitamin E in my book stands for ENERGY!!!

I kid, I kid. But seriously, let’s discuss vitamins and why they are so significant in one’s life. Let me tell you a little story.

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve really been working my butt off in school, at work, and at home. I just moved into a new place (which I love) so I’m constantly fixing it up, and I just recently, finally, moved everything out of the boxes; all the while, I’m getting up at 5am for work and spending about 5-6 hours at school and(or) doing homework — literally — everyday (except for Sunday’s, my rest day). It’s not easy to do. As a woman, and as a college student, I tend to keep busy 24/7 and I didn’t even mention the fact that I make it a point to try to fit in my workouts! It’s just what I do! Well, last week it seems like my body had enough. Although, I came back from my vacation in the Dominican Republic refresh, I was so extremely busy through out the week that I couldn’t find the time to workout and I couldn’t find the time for myself. I just couldn’t.

What’s the point?

Yesterday, I had the most amazing workout — ever. Although, I had been up since 5am, later on in the evening my boyfriend and I went to Wal-Mart and did some groceries. One item I hadn’t had in my pantry for a while were my Multivitamins, so I picked those up; and while I was in the health aisle, I also picked up some B-complex and Calcium. Now, when I say that after I took those vitamins, two hours later I was ready to go to the gym — I. DO. NOT. KID. I went to Bailey’s Total Fitness and had the most amazing one-hour cardio session listening to my Beyoncé’ playlist. Yes Mam! Then, I started working on my abs and I just felt absolutely amazing.

It was the vitamins! I hadn’t been taking my vitamins in so long and my body was craving it! And yes, if your eating healthy then usually you don’t have to take vitamins, or as many. I get that, I really do. Still, as a college student with little to no time, who at times forgets to meal prep (or didn’t make the time) I lose out on a significant amount of vitamins and I’m not able to replenish them all with the healthy foods that I do eat. I mean let’s be real, sometimes I don’t have time to steam my broccoli or bake my asparagus. Sometimes, I forget I have vegetables in my fridge and let them go to waste. I know! Terrible!

That’s why I must take my vitamins. Let me breakdown the vitamins that I bought, in case you didn’t know what they’re good for and what they help in.

Image Credit: Living Well Magazine

Image Credit: Living Well Magazine

1st my Centrum Women’s Multivitamins. Yes, your pee will probably look highlighter yellow just drink water, your fine; but the multivitamins are perfect, it has a little bit of everything! From Vitamin A to Minerals Zinc, when eaten with meals the multivitamins are there to compliment the foods we eat and make us work better. Your body needs them! And my body, apparently loved it.

A little brief description from the Centrum websites states that the multivitamin assist in:

“For Women’s Health; helps metabolize carbohydrates, fats and proteins, helps maintain immune function, helps maintain healthy skin and helps in development of bones.”

Next, B-Complex. What I didn’t know, and what you should know. It contains all eight of the B vitamins: B1 (thiamine), B2 (riboflavin), B3 (niacin), B5 (panthothenic acid) B6, B7 (biotin) B9 (folate) and B12. What attracted me to the bottle was the “promotes energy metabolism” on the bottle (Sundown Naturals Brand). All I saw was the word energy, than I read about the all natural ingredients and allergen facts including: free of artificial sweeteners, flavors and colors; free of dairy and lactose; free of gluten and wheat and vegetarian.

According to whole living some of the benefits of B-complex are,

  • ease stress
  • treat anxiety and depression
  • aid memory
  • relieve PMS
  • Reduce heart-disease risk

All are so, very, important! Especially the ease stress benefit because college is all about stress (at least it feels like that at times).

Lastly, good ol’ calcium. I hate to sound like a brat that doesn’t like their vegetables, but I just absolutely can’t stand milk. I can barely drink almond milk, rice milk it just doesn’t sit right with me. I do like T. G. Lee milk, sometimes, but it’s very rare. So, “I got’s to have my calcium for strong bones”. I like to workout, and sometimes working out puts stress on the bones. You need to make sure they’re strong so that you can work out to the fullest without being afraid to break a bone. I mean when you go to the gym you have to go hard right? Absolutely.

I’m not a nutritionist, but I do believe that if you’re not getting your nutrients from your food, then multivitamins are the next best thing. You should also probably consult your physician or doctor to make sure, especially if your taking other types of medicine. Also, I am not being endorsed to promote any of the brands I talk about in this blog or in any other blog. In the words of Sweet Brown “Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That” 😉

Forreal.

Forreal.

Seriously, take care of yourself and your health. Happy healthy living and remember to take your vitamins!

-Alba

Leave a Reply

