Listening to Your Body

Image

This is a blog that I forgot to post last week.

Something that I have learned the hard way…probably more than once is that you need to listen to your body. This is probably one of the hardest concepts for me to grasp especially when I’m in my health kick, which I currently am in thank goodness. The way I see it is that it took me a good 4 months to get back into the groove of things so I try and push myself even harder at the gym. I have been keeping track of my food and been keeping up with working out every day with one day rest. So it was very frustrating while engaging in air squats at Timed Exercise this morning when I felt a strain. Of all places it had to be a strain on my groin muscle. The more frustrating thing was that I kept feeling something a bit bothersome but I was trying to push myself through this workout that I just ignored it until I couldn’t even squat without wincing. I feel like the whole, “no pain no gain” campaign needs to come with an advisory disclosure. My trainer made me modify the work out which I can’t stand to do. When I spoke to her after the class she said that I needed to ice it and we needed to “baby” me for the next couple of days during workouts. I was even more annoyed after that but I followed her instructions and iced the area and decided that I will take it easy and not try and do anything that would irritate it. So later on today I will be meeting my friend Julia at the gym and we will be focusing on upper body and maybe I can do a little walking on incline to get my cardio in instead of doing the stair master or elliptical. As frustrating as it may to be to hold myself back I am lucky that it wasn’t anything more serious and that with a little rest and stretching everything will fall back into place in no time.  

 xoxo

Jaz

Leave a Reply

