Just Get the Hell Out of Bed!

Image

This is exactly what I need to tell myself literally every morning! The struggle is so real and I’m sure there are plenty of people whom can relate to me with finding the energy to just get up and do something! They say it takes 21 days to form a habit. Well I have been pushing myself to leave my excuses at the door and trying to formulate the habit of waking up early and getting myself to my 7:15am Timed Exercise workout. Now to some that may not sound that early, but this is coming from someone who literally would yell at anyone whom would call me before 10am.

After miserable years of having to be at school at 7:15am throughout High School I decided in college that there was absolutely no reason for me to take any classes before 10am so that’s when I grew a bad habit of sleeping in. I had to work so hard on becoming a, “morning person.” I realized that I would just make so many excuses when I was done with either work, school, sometimes even both that I would just go home instead of working out. When I first attempted to work out in the morning it was rough because I used to stay up late, either it was hanging out drinking with my friends at night or just up talking with my sisters hanging around at the house. After my sisters moved out I would find myself going out more with my friends and never having the energy for waking up and getting a work out in before having to go to school or work.

 I would wake up and get ready to start my day and feel so awful about my body and how big I felt but not only appearance but I felt very lethargic. So I did something that me as a social butterfly was hard to do, I started saying “no”. No to going out, no to drinking, no to late night munchies, and instead I would go to bed. The amazing amount of energy that you have when you get enough sleep is shocking at first. I started getting up and going for walks, long walks just enjoying what the morning was all about. It was hard for me to get used to, I didn’t want to talk to anyone I just wanted to be in my own little world enjoying the peaceful morning. I tuned out all the busy cars with my music and just walked. Eventually I found myself at the gym in the mornings, getting a little more social taking some spinning and Zumba classes.

 That was pretty much how I started my fitness journey 2 years ago. I’m not saying that I have been getting up every morning eager to work out or that I stopped going out. What I am saying is that sometimes you need to reevaluate priorities in order to form a habit. So far I have been doing good the past couple of weeks, I am even getting over ambitious and getting to the gym at 6:00 am to get some cardio in before my 7:15 Timed Exercise class. As I am writing this blog I laugh because I just realized something, my Timed Exercise class is at 7:15am and the time that 1st period used to start in high school was 7:15am which I used to loathe!  I can say that I am proud of myself though of how much I have changed, I am a proud 7:15am Timed Exercise attendee and I love it. So just wake up & shake up!

Xoxo

Jaz

Image

 

Leave a Reply

