Morning Fitness

Rarely do I wake up early on Sunday mornings, but when I do … I go to the gym, and I go hard.

That’s what happened on this lovely breezy Sunday morning. I woke up around 6:45am ish, and thought “early bird gets the worm, right?” So, I went for it. I put on my tights, pink shirt, tied my sneakers and drove off to the gym. Today, I had to complete my Mankofit_Challenge workout, which was: 10 sets of 15 strict burpees without pushup… What was I thinking! Burpees are generally a pretty challenging exercise alone (but even more with a push up included).

Demonstration of a burpee. Photo Credit: Standard Moves via Tumblr

The whole motion of a burpee consists of: beginning in the standing position, dropping down to a squat with your hands on the ground, jumping back with your feet into the push-up position, a push-up (if you choose to make it harder), than your feet jumping back to the squat position and lastly, jumping back with your hands in the air (like you just don’t care). Seems pretty simple, but try doing it 15 times in a row, for 10 sets and I don’t think the push up aspect even matters! By my 3rd set, I was begging for water, taking 3 minute breaks in between! By the 5th set, I started breaking up my burpees into 5’s, taking 10 second breaks in between. When I tell you those burpees aren’t joke, they’re not!

At the end of my workout, I managed to complete 8 sets of 15; and to me, that’s a huge accomplishment. But how do I feel? I feel great. 

There is no better feeling than knowing you got your workout out the way and have the rest of the day to do whatever you please, eat healthy, or have a cheat meal (if it’s your day) or do more important stuff like, for me, home work (because I’m about that college life).

Next time you wake up early on a weekend morning, try to take advantage of all that extra time and start your day off with a workout. You’ll have energy for the rest of the day, literally. And not to mention, you don’t have to worry about working out until the next day (unless you’re doing two-a-days than you were going to have to do it regardless). Either way, enjoy your weekend and if you can try to fit a little cardio in. Now, I have the rest of the day to work on my papers and the rest of my school projects.

Happy Sunday, folks.

-Alba

 

Leave a Reply

