Be Inspired. Be Motivated.

Inspiration: the process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative

Motivation: the reason or reasons one has for acting or behaving in a particular way — thanks Oxford dictionaries.

 

Every individual on earth has their own reasons for doing the things they do, saying the things they say and thinking the way they think. Fact. There’s a reason for everything. When it comes to fitness, many people are motivated or inspired to start on a journey by different things. It isn’t always an athlete, but sometimes an event, or a health situation, or a mid-life crisis. We’ve all been there.

So, what’s my motivation for my healthy living/fitness journey?

I’m not going to lie I want my body to look good. After getting slender from running so many miles and loving it, I wanted to have more definition within my muscles. Why? Because to me, in my eyes, strong is the new sexy. I started looking to see which athletes, or individuals had a physique that I would want mines to look like, and I came across some pretty impressive ones – at least from my standpoint. But what really hooked me on to some of the people that I admire and that motivate me, was not just how awesome their abs looked, but their outlook on life. The way they handled their situations, their setback, their temptations. People whom, yes have a great healthy lifestyle, but also want their followers and their fans to have one as well.

Who motivates me?

Massy aka Mankofit. Her body? Amazing. Her spirit? Amazing. I discovered her through Instagram, and she lives for motivating people. Inspiring them with her amazing physique, but motivating them through (not quotes, which is cliché and everyone does) but through speaking to her followers and telling them how it’s helped her overcome her emotional past. Though I haven’t found out what exact turmoil she went through, I can relate to her because I too have had a rough time emotionally (beating myself up mentally for not excelling to the heights that I should, or for comparing my successes with another). She lets us in and frankly we relate, I relate.  Also, she’s Dominican, and so am I. I basically fell in love with her. She motivates and inspires me to be a better person, have a healthier lifestyle, be a physically fit goddess and have fun while doing it all! 

I mean, cause, why not?

Alysha Clayton is my next girl. Oh, she is absolutely amazing. I also discovered her through Instagram. Why did I start following her? What about her motivates my fitness journey? Her body. It’s amazing. I want my strong to look like that, and watching her exercises, healthy recipes and falling down and getting back up, adds along to her whole package as an individual who motivates and inspires me to be a better me. Plus, her booty makes people that get butt injections look foolish. Don’t be afraid to squat.

Still, just because I’m a girl, doesn’t mean I only get inspired and motivated by girls; Seahawks quarterback, Russell Wilson inspires me too. This guy was a third draft round pick, and took his team to the superbowl in two years. Talk about awesome. Yes, ofcourse he had great coaching, and an amazing team, but he defied the odds. And where people doubted him because of his height (5’11, pretty short for a quarterback) he worked harder to prove his skills were all that mattered. So if he can do it, and beat the odds, why can’t I? That’s how I was inspired.

I’m inspired and motivated by a lot of things. Athletes, non- athletes, personal life events, you name and I’m motivated (and inspired). Those are just some of the people that I follow daily to help me continue to see my potential and my growth. I know that one day, soon, I will have my competition body and my health is already being worked on from the inside out. Everyday I’m feeling more mentally, physically and emotionally healthy, not only because of these people but because I took the initiative to take that first step – three years ago.

Plus, her booty makes people that get butt injections look foolish. Don’t be afraid to squat.

Aside from all of those amazing body individuals, who are super healthy and have had a hard time in their lives where fitness saved them, literally, I see people who take their first baby steps, or leaps, into a fitness journey as inspiration and motivation.  Doing something your afraid to do, and never thinking you could is amazing and though it may seem like nothing compared to someone elses success, it definitely is inspiring and motivating to others, and better yet to yourself. Be inspired and be motivated because this is a lifelong journey to a healthier life, and one that is sooo worth it.

– Alba

5 thoughts on “Be Inspired. Be Motivated.

  1. Kristin says:

    I love this post because your outlook on fitness and life in general is so inspiring!! You’re awesome!! I do agree, too that strong is the new sexy! I enjoy running and such, but I also really enjoy hitting the weights and feeling strong! 😉

Leave a Reply

