Aunt Flow Interrupts Workout Time, We Make it Work …

Caution: This post is strictly for the ladies. So, unless you really want to know about our Aunt Flow and how she likes to visit once a month, I would NOT continue reading. You’ve been warned.

Now that’s out of the way, it’s that time of the month again! The time when Aunt Flow likes to remind us of how vibrant, fertile and very much full of life we all are! You know, we get the joys (because we got it this month), we get the pains – mostly the pains – and just the knowledge that for the next week or so, we’ll be tending to good ol’ Aunt Flow. And by tending I mean wearing secure protection, taking the necessary meds for pain, getting very emotional and trying not eat all the sweets in sight. Normally, women who are starting out on their path to fitness may tend to skip the first day (or few) of a workout which is understandable, but once we get the strength to hit up the gym or start working out again – depending on the protection – there are a few clothing articles that we should avoid altogether. There are also different clothes that will work regardless of the type of protection we use.

tumblr_loz15xVIiZ1qibhs8o1_500

Image Provided via Tumblr @theladyoflooseends

Since, I’ve been living an active physically fit lifestyle for the past three years or so, I’ve found what works for me through trial, error and embarrassment – oh you don’t know the half of it!

**One time I wore a pad for protection with some cotton grey tights. I had a high intensity workout and you know, I was doing my thing. I said to myself, “Once I start working out, I won’t even think about my monthly.” And it was true, I didn’t. However, after I was done, my tights were soaked, shirt drenched, and worst of all so was my underwear — except for my protection! Can you imagine? The whole outline of my protection was completely dry and visible, needless to say I was super embarrassed. Super duper embarrassed (but at least I had a good work out, right?).**

With that being said, I have come up with a go to list for what to wear around that time of the month.  As women, we must overcome these treacherous obstacles – like good ol’ Aunt Flow – and prove to ourselves that we’re in this for the long haul and nothing will stop us. It’s not a fad or something temporary, it’s a way of life; and lets be honest with ourselves, Aunt Flow will be with us for awhile.

Tip # 1 – For high intensity workouts (such as: running, elliptical, cycling etc…) use a tampon, low intensity use a pad. The type of clothing will not matter as much, as long as your “protected” and “non-showing.” If you prefer using a pad at all times, then read tip # 2.

Tip # 2 – If using a pad, regardless of the workout, wear clothing that will keep you dry, like compression shorts under regular nylon/cotton shorts, or compressions leggings (they resemble the kind that football players wear, or runners that run in the cold).  I stick to Under Armour’s Compression Leggings, they’re just a good fit. Also, most fabrics that state to be “moisture wicking” are a plus because it keeps the moisture off (almost like sucking out all of the sweat from the body). Livestrong  explains how this type of fabric works. Some brands that particularly specialize in this include: Capilene, COOLMAX, and Dri-FIT.

Tip # 3- Try to avoid cotton on skin at all costs. I had to learn the hard way. Even if it’s not that time of the month, just avoid it. Cotton will absorb the sweat and not release it as quickly through evaporation. It. Will. Take. Its. Time.

All in all, to combat Aunt Flow, we need to keep dry and comfortable, not sticky and wet; so lets make it work and show Aunt Flow who’s boss. Period.

– Alba 

 

Leave a Reply

