Failure to Plan is Planning to Fail

Right off the bat let me just say that this saying has become my mantra throughout life. Just last year, I had discovered that I have a gluten intolerance and the changes that I had to make were healthier ones and honestly for the better. Although, just because something is better for you it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is easier to do, or to stick with. Failure to plan is planning to fail. Literally, when I do not plan my meals for the week – especially with my booked schedule between 2 jobs, school, and working out – my body gets all out of whack.

It is so easy to go through the drive through at McDonalds and get a burger when you are on the run! But if I were to do this, I would have ended up like I had 3 weeks ago, in bed with the worst stomach pains and headaches. Three weeks ago I was miserable! I had just begun school again and by the end of the day I was just exhausted. I didn’t want to wake up and go work out, I wanted to sleep in! I didn’t want to cook for 2 hours to prepare my meals for the week! I wanted to just relax and watch Keeping up with the Kardashians since it is just mindless entertainment that doesn’t require me to really pay attention to details, like I had done so already throughout my long days at school and work. I felt down and just had no motivation! I began to turn into the driveway at McDonald’s (which I normally hate and never eat…ever) and ordered cheeseburgers that would leave me sick by the morning.

I was emotionally eating because I was upset at my lack of motivation. I was hurting myself knowingly until one day I was just like, “Jasmine, tighten up!” and pretty much just like that I got back on track and made myself do the things that I didn’t want to do.

“I was emotionally eating because I was upset at my lack of motivation.”

Now, three weeks later I have all my meals planned out for this week and I have been feeling ten times better. When I get into my hopeless moods, I do what any girl does and blame it on aunt flow and hormones. What I have learned is that nothing and no one is perfect. Sometimes we just fall off the wagon and you just need to stand up, dust off, and move on. The road to success isn’t a straight shot, it is bumpy and sometimes there are detours, you just learn from your mistakes and carry on. Failure to plan is planning to fail.

– Jasmine

Leave a Reply

